Burn

Burn (Spark, #2) by Brooke Cumberland

Synopsis:
Just when Velaney thinks she is safe again…her worst nightmare comes back to haunt her.

Eric is dealing with his own insecurities as he tries to accept Velaney’s decision to help the enemy…can he get past it? Will they be there for each other in the end?

He struggles to step aside and trust Velaney…but will his past keep him from doing so? Can he let go in order to move forward?

Velaney and Eric had their fair share of ups and downs in SPARK…they love was undeniable and intense. Just when you think they could get their happily ever after…pasts collide and merge together…will they fight for what they want?

Or will their love crash and burn?
Review:
I have to say that I couldn’t wait to read book two. I was in for a surprise this was nothing like I thought it would. If you enjoyed book two you may not be so happy with the second book. It moved faster and there where things in this book that you never would have thought it would happen. There was something thru the book that Eric did that did not sit will with me. Overall this was still a great book to read you just have to get thru some bumps.
Author Bio:
Brooke is a midwestern gal, from the cheese state of Wisconsin! Go Packers! She’s a stay-at-home mom of three beautiful children (one daughter & two stepsons) and a black fury dog. She’s studied psychology in college, and counseling and education in graduate school where she found her love for writing. Most days you can find her reading or writing, or just hanging out with her family! She loves movies, cooking, and shopping! She’s addicted to Starbucks, Coach purses, and wearing yoga pants.

Social Links:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/brookecumberlandauthor
Twitter: @blcumberland
Goodreads Author: http://www.goodreads.com/brookecumberland
Goodreads Book Link: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18192580-burn
Website: http://www.brookecumberland.blogspot.com
Other:
http://www.amazon.com/Brooke-Cumberland/e/B00BUDCEFA/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Book Enthusiast Promotions Button:

Book Enthusiast Promotions

Tour Schedule Link:
http://wp.me/p3raRE-Do

Buy Links:
Kitchen Affairs Series:

Kitchen Affairs – http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00BYD1CWM
Kitchen Scandals – http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DPRFQN6

Spark Series:
Spark:

Amazon US- http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00E6ZAHVM
Amazon UK – http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00E6ZAHVM
B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/spark-brooke-cumberland/1116238680?ean=9781491054765
KOBO: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/spark-17

Burn:

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FIVYEUI
Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00FIVYEUI
B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/burn-brooke-cumberland/1117003594?ean=2940148769866&itm=1&usri=brooke+cumberland Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/burn-spark-2
iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/burn-spark-2/id718191421?mt=11
Giveaway:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

or

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/MTg3ZjI1ZWNkY2ZiZTYwZjBiMzFkMTEwODk1NGYyOjEz/

Dream Cast:
**attached in email but here is additional information for the posting:

Taylor Kinney as Eric Reilley

Kendall Jenner as Velaney Wills

Playlist:

BURN playlist
**Songs that relate to Eric & Velaney’s journey or songs that were involved in creating their story.**
“Dancing in the Sky” by Dani & Lizzy (For Ethan, Megan, & Baby Reilley #1)
“Wake Me Up” by Avicii
“Stars” by Grace Potter
“Marry Me” by Train
“God Gave Me You” by Dave Barnes/Blake Shelton
“What Can I Do (But Love You)” by Joy Williams
“I Could Not Ask For More” by Sara Evans
“Stuck Like Glue” by Sugarland
“Bless the Broken Road” by Rascal Flatts
“Here Comes Goodbye” by Rascal Flatts
“Blown Away” by Carrie Underwood
“Roar” by Katy Perry
“Hurt” by Christina Aguilera
“I Bruise Easily” by Natasha Bedingfield
“Soldier” by Gavin Degraw
“More than Anyone” by Gavin Degraw
“Stay” by Rihanna
“Dreaming With A Broken Heart” by John Mayer
“Wrecking Ball” by Miley Cyrus
Excerpts:

#1 Tabby’s Tantalizing Reviews; Up All Night Book Addict

Running had become my crutch, my therapy, for dealing with the life I was handed. It was always my emotional outlet, but maybe it wasn’t enough. What if it would never be enough?
Eric lets go of me as he fiddles with his keys. Just as he turns to unlock the door, two large arms wrap around me and grip me tight against their chest. I fight against it, waiting for Eric to come to my rescue. After all, that was basically the evidence of our relationship.
“Eric!” I squeal as I’m shocked to see him standing there as I am being assaulted.
“Use what you know!” he shouts back, not giving any assistance.
What the hell? Why isn’t he moving?
Anger rises through me as I allow pain and hurt to feed my actions. As I elbow jab him in the gut, I quickly spin around and wrap my arms around his neck, pulling him into me as I knee him in the groin. He was hurt enough to where I could run away, but something inside me—something that has needed to come out for a long time—fuels the power to keep going at him.
I kick him in the gut as he goes down on the asphalt. I hear him groan as he clenches his stomach tighter. I lower to my knees and give him a good ole nose jab. He yells out, now holding his nose. I watch as blood streaks down his face and onto his hands.
But it’s not good enough. I punch him once more in the chest for good measure, giving him what he deserves. I feel…uplifted, fearless, and powerful. For once, I’m giving him what he deserves—what he’s done to me emotionally for years.
“Velaney! Good god, what are you doin’? Stop!” Eric is screaming at me. His screams finally break through to me as I watch over the man lying in front of me. Eric pulls me up and shakes me, but my eyes are glossed over. I freeze as I realize that I just imagined beating the crap out of Aiden…using that man as a human punching bag.
“Dude, what the fuck?” I hear the other guy moaning as he crawls his way over. Eric releases one hand from me as he reaches for him, pulling him to his feet.
“Chad, I’m so sorry. I didn’t know she’d react this way.”
“Damn, she has a fighter’s stance when she’s not expecting it.” I can hear the amusement in his tone as if he’s both surprised and proud.
I hear them exchange a few more words, but I feel so light-headed, I don’t make out what they’re saying. I don’t know what just happened to me—why I had an out-of-body experience. That’s what it was, right? What else would it be?
“What the hell was that?” I finally yell as I come back to my senses. “You scared the living crap out of me.”
“I’m sorry, I just wanted to see your reaction when you weren’t expecting it,” Chad replies softly. I push past him and climb into Eric’s truck.
I watch as Eric pats Chad on the shoulder before he swings the driver’s side door open and gets in. I’m infuriated, yet euphoric at the same time. I’m impressed, yet scared of the way I reacted. Perhaps it was all the built up rage of seeing Aiden…even if I only imagined him being there.
“I’m sorry,” Eric mumbles as he inserts the truck key. He lets it idol as he looks down.
“I don’t know what came over me.”
“It was your instincts kicking in, it’s okay.”
“I imagined it was Aiden. I…I just imploded on Chad.”
His face softens as he reaches for my hand. I meet him half way and link my fingers with his. We don’t speak. We just sit in silence.

#2: Book 2 Book; The Reading Cow

“Eric, why are you leaving?” she asks, her eyes clouding with water. I can’t do this. I can’t hurt her the way I’m hurting. She’s been hurt so much already—Aiden, that motherfucker—I just can’t bare to give her anymore pain.
“Because I need to.”
I rush out of her apartment door before she can talk me into staying. I need to get ahold of myself before I face her again. Sometimes in life, you feel such a rush of emotion that you don’t completely make sense of your choices. Logic. Pretty much out the window when you’re in love. And then one day, you wake up and ask yourself, how did I get here? Am I deserving of this?
Every time I saw Aiden, I would see red. It was as if my mind took over, despite the consequences. I still don’t understand what happened with him, but part of me has figured out why he is back now—me. Velaney has said she left home four years ago. I can’t help but think that he’s back because I’m in the picture. And I know Velaney broke up with me in the first place to protect me. How could I not see it all along—she needs protection.
This was one of the reasons I wanted her to learn self-defense. I’ve been around to protect her and be there when she needed me, but what if one day, I’m not? What if he comes back and hurts her…for good this time.
God, that makes me sick to my stomach. That fucking bastard. I should’ve killed him on that damn cliff. And to know he just walked away…fuck, that pisses me off.
What I wouldn’t give to find him in a dark alley some night…oh, shit. I need to stop thinking like this.
Demons.
We all have them, right? But how do you live with them? Or better yet, how do you get over them so you can continue to move forward.

#3: Hook Me Up Book Blog; Mommy’s a Book Whore

“What happened?” Carissa asks as soon as I slam the apartment door shut.
“Drink. I need a drink.”
She raises her eyebrows, but doesn’t question me. She goes to the kitchen and grabs two shot glasses.
“What’s your poison?” she calls.
“Anything that’ll get me plastered.”
She brings over two shots and a bottle of vodka. I take one out of her hand and tilt my head back as it burns down my throat. She continues staring at me in shock as I grab the other shot glass, and I do the same.
“Ah, that hits the spot.”
She tilts her head, looking at me and says, “Who are you, and what have you done with my sweet, naïve Laney?”
“She grew balls. So-to-speak.” We laugh together, the alcohol running through my veins.
“Well, hot fucking damn. You’re fun all spicy.”
“If I have to do this, I’m doing it drunk.”
“You don’t have to do it, Lane. Really. No one would blame you or judge you.” I know she’s right.
“God would judge me,” I slur.

I wake up sometime between the fifth shot and horns honking. Ugh, god, what is that terrible noise…
I feel strong muscles wrapping around me as I’m being lifted from the couch. I lean my head back and get hit in the face with Eric’s scent.
“Babe, are you…is that you, babe?” I can’t even make the damn words come out right.
“Yeah, sweetheart, it’s me. I’m putting you in your bed.”
“Ooh, that sounds naughty. And haaaaawt,” I whisper in his ear.
“How drunk are you?”
“Oh, god. I don’t remember.”
“You don’t remember what?” he asks, amused.
“I need to feel you, babe.” He places me gently on the bed, pulling the covers back as he sets me in.
“You need to sleep this off.”
“C’mon…fuck me,” I whine, pleading for him to make me feel.
“Sweetheart, you are drunk. You need to sleep. Please, just go to bed.”
“We can use that penis ring thingy,” I hum, trying to seduce him into what I want. I hear him laugh. “I’ll rock your world with that vibrating thing.”
“Okay, sweetheart. You really are drunk.” He chuckles, clearly amused by my behavior.
“Ugh, party pooper,” is the last thing I say before sleep takes over.

“Velaney!”
Oh god, my head.
“Velaney Rose!”
Please, make it stop.
My bedroom door slams open, waking me from my sleep induced a coma.
“Get your ass up, girlfriend.”
“I hate you,” I slur, rolling to my side.
“Your man came looking for you this morning. I shooed him off and told him it was girls day only.”
“Oh, god, Eric. He was here. Oh god, I was so drunk.”
“You’re still drunk,” she quips, and I hear her laugh.
“Why did you let me drink that much? God, I feel like shit.” I rub my head, begging the headache to go away. “Can you go in my purse and grab me some aspirin please.”
She shuffles to the dresser where my purse is hanging and begins digging around. I manage to sit up and adjust my eyes to the bright sun shining through the window.
“Oh, holy mother of sweet kinkery. What the hell is this doing in your purse?” She turns slowly, holding the cock ring in her fingers like an infected rodent.
“Oh god.” I blush. “I think I offered to use that last night when Eric was here. How embarrassing.”
“Dude, that’s hot. I can’t believe you actually have this in your purse.”
“He gave it to me in Texas. I completely forgot I had it in there.”
“Well, let me just say—from experience—that it’ll be the best little toy you’ll ever have.” She winks at me, making me cringe. That’s the last thing I’m thinking about right now.

#4: Naughty and Nice Book Blog; Part Of That World
Eric
I can’t breathe. She’s been in surgery for too long. Something’s wrong. Why is she still in there? Why hasn’t anyone come out to update us?
I’m drowning in awful thoughts until Carissa starts shaking me.
“Dude, chill. She’s fine.”
“How do you know? I mean, you can’t be so sure.”
“I’m sure. It’s Velaney. She’s a fucking spitfire. She’s made it through much worse, trust me.”
So not the words I want to hear right now. I pace back and forth in the waiting area, driving myself out of my mind.
My mind goes back to when I saw Velaney in New Mexico—heart stopping. I for sure thought I was imagining things. My heart was shattered when she left me. I was empty. Numb. I agreed to come out to New Mexico because I secretly wished I wouldn’t come back. I wanted to die. I already felt dead without her.
I’m drowning in my sorrows when a hard slap across the face grabs my attention.
“What the hell was that?” I ask Carissa, holding my hand to my burning cheek.
“Snap out of it! She needs us during this time. This wasn’t easy for her. Hell, I still don’t understand her thought process, but it was her decision, and we are going to support her. Stop moping. Stop being a bitch.” Her voice is stern, and I can tell she’s completely serious.
“You didn’t have to slap me.”
“I know.” She grins. I rub my cheek until the burn fades, and I sit down. My hands are sweaty and my mouth is dry. God, I don’t know if I can do this…
“Listen,” Carissa begins, sitting next to me. “Velaney has taken care of herself for half her life. She’s tough. I know she may look fragile and weak, but she has really been through a lot.” She places her hand on my knee and I realize I’m shaking uncontrollably. “She’ll be all right. You just have to trust her. Ironically, she has great instincts.”
I smile back at her and say, “Thanks, Carissa.”
She shrugs nonchalantly. “Velaney is like a sister to me and if she insists on keeping you around, well, we might as well be on the same team.” She smiles back. “But don’t think for a second I won’t kick your pathetic little ass if you hurt her.”
“I don’t doubt that.” I lean in and give her a hug. It feels weird getting close to Carissa. She has higher walls up than Velaney does, somehow though, right now, she doesn’t seem as guarded.

#5: Book Freak; Mommy’s Read and Treats
My heart has been fucking ripped in two. She kicked me out and won’t even give me the chance to explain. I don’t even know how to get her to listen to me. I know she’s upset, but if she’d just give me the time of day to tell her what really happened, this could all blow over.
I give her a few hours before I call her. Straight to voicemail. I leave her a message explaining exactly what happened, hoping she’d at least hear it and call me back.
But she doesn’t.
For twelve days.
I call her and leave message after message. I pound on her door, but no one is home. I look for her at work, but she isn’t there. I can’t believe she would actually think I would cheat on her. Have I not proven myself to her over and over?
I worry about her. I can’t eat, sleep, or function at work—I’m a nervous wreck.
“Carissa? Are you in there?” I yell through the door as I pound on it. I notice Velaney’s car isn’t in the parking lot, but Carissa’s is.
Finally, she swings the door open. “What do you want?”
“Screw you.” I push in, looking around for Vel just in case she is home. “Why would you tell Vel that? You didn’t even see everything and now she won’t even let me explain!”
“Hey, don’t get your panties all in a bundle because you let Nadia touch and kiss you. I only told her what I saw.”
“Did you happen to see me push her away? Or tell her to get the fuck away? Or hear me tell her I had a girlfriend?” I question aggressively.
She stands there with her arms crossed, not answering my questions. She shrugs, not believing a word I’m saying.
“Whatever. Is she here or not?”
“No, she left.”
“What do you mean left? Where is she?”
She huffs as she reaches for an envelope sitting on the table. “Here, this is for you.”
It says Eric. I rip it open to a hand-written letter.

“What the fuck is this?” I yell, swinging around to Carissa. “Where the hell did she go?”
“I don’t know. She left four days ago.”
“Four days! She’s been gone for four days and you didn’t feel the need to tell me!”
“It wasn’t my responsibility to tell you! She decided to pack up and leave. Trust me, I tried to stop her, Eric. But she’s overly emotional right now. Her mind is a fucking rollercoaster of raging hormones that I can’t even figure out.” She stops, giving me time to soak it all in. “She’ll be back. Just give her time.”
“Time? It’s been 12 fucking days! I need to see her…make sure she’s all right. I swear, Carissa—I would never cheat on her. I don’t want the single life, I only want her!”
“I’m sorry. I really thought what I saw at the store was more than what it was. I love Lane, Eric. She’s all I’ve got. I know you love her too, but my loyalty is to her, not you. If I thought for a second that anyone was hurting her, I will do everything to watch out for her. It’s nothing against you, even though you are a huge pain in my ass most of the time. Its just…Nadia was the girl that you let all over you right in front of her that night. You were drunk and acted like you didn’t even know her name. It killed me. She was so fucking hurt and torn after that.”
“God, I’m such an ass.”
“Listen, you didn’t know her past then. You were trying to get her to see what was right in front of her by making her jealous. Only it made her more insecure. She pushed you away because of that. And she’s pushing you away now because she’s hurting. She doesn’t let people see her like that. She’s blocked out so many awful memories and pain that it’s all she knows.”
“What am I going to do? I need to see her. I can’t even function not knowing where she is, not hearing from her.”
“Give her a few more days. I can almost guarantee she’ll be back or call you.”
Few more days? Is she fucking kidding? God, I can’t even eat or go another day without hearing her voice.
“Do you have any clue where she would go?”
“The only place I can think of is her aunt’s house. It’s her dad’s sister, and she’s the only one that believed her about Aiden.”
“Where does she live?”
She hesitates for a minute before responding, “Seattle.”

Leave a Reply

